Academic Bowl Region and State Winners

State Winners 2021

On January 23, 2021, the top twenty-four Regional Academic Bowl teams competed online to determine the PAGE Academic Bowl for Middle Grades State Champion.  Here are the eight finalists.


State Champion

David T. Howard Middle School – Atlanta Public Schools

Second Place

North Gwinnett Middle School – Gwinnett County

Third Place

The Westminster Schools – Fulton Independent School

Fourth Place

River Trail Middle School – Fulton County

Fifth Place

Chamblee Middle School – DeKalb County

Sixth Place

Aaron Cohn Middle School – Muscogee County

Seventh Place

Lakeside Middle School – Forsyth County

Eighth Place

Richards Middle School – Muscogee County

The final rankings for the remainder of the State Championship teams are below. 

9th Stallings Island Middle School 10th Blackmon Road Middle School
11th Dalton Middle School 12th The Heritage School
13th Lost Mountain Middle School 14th Chestatee Academy
15th Teasley Middle School 16th Creekland Middle School
17th LaGrange Academy 18th Screven County Middle School
19th Dean Rusk Middle School 20th Robert A. Cross Middle Magnet
21st Bonaire Middle School 22nd Oglethorpe County Middle School
23rd Lakeside Middle School (Columbia) 24th Waycross Middle School

Region Winners 2020-2021

This year’s competition was held virtually in seven regions. Twenty-four teams (the top three teams per region plus an additional three teams with the highest win percentages) were invited to participate in the PAGE Academic Bowl for Middle Grades Virtual State Championship Competition on January 23, 2021. (Winners are listed by region in alphabetical order.)

Region 1 Winners

Creekland Middle School, Cherokee County Schools
Coaches: Aaron Newton, Rob Moore

Dalton Middle School, Dalton City Schools
Coach: Mary Tuck

Dean Rusk Middle School, Cherokee County Schools
Coach: Courtney Jasman

Teasley Middle School, Cherokee County Schools
Coaches: John Carter, Abby Rayburn

Region 2 Winners

The Heritage School, Coweta Independent School
Coaches: Martha Mitchell, Nathan Watts

LaGrange Academy, Troup Independent School
Coach: Beth Tures

Lost Mountain Middle School, Cobb County Schools
Coaches: Jennifer Dawson, Lauren Newell

Region 3 Winners

Chamblee Middle School, DeKalb County Schools
Coaches: John Donegan, Cathy Hirsch

David T. Howard Middle School, Atlanta Public Schools
Coaches: Jessica Hughes, Abbi Hurt

Lakeside Middle School, Forsyth County Schools
Coaches: Cheryl West, Joy Hall

River Trail Middle School, Fulton County Schools
Coaches: Scott Fowler, Anatolie Kovacevich

The Westminster Schools, Fulton Independent School
Coach: Jon Hathorn

Region 4 Winners

Chestatee Academy, Hall County Schools
Coach: Betsy Brooksher

North Gwinnett Middle School, Gwinnett County Schools
Coaches: Scott Johnson, Scott Kim

Oglethorpe County Middle School, Oglethorpe County Schools
Coaches – Penny Miller, Ahna Chastain

Region 5 Winners

Aaron Cohn Middle School, Muscogee County Schools
Coach: Rebecca Perez

Blackmon Road Middle School, Muscogee County Schools
Coaches: Alicia Allen, Stacy Jenkins

Richards Middle School, Muscogee County Schools
Coach: Andrea Bingham

Region 6 Winners

Bonaire Middle School, Houston County Schools
Coaches: Dianne James, Mary Ellen Stuart

Robert A. Cross Middle Magnet, Dougherty County Schools
Coaches: Mandy Dozier, Holly Strickland

Waycross Middle School, Ware County Schools
Coaches: Ashley King

Region 7 Winners

Lakeside Middle School, Columbia County Schools
Coach: Matt Kempton

Screven County Middle School, Screven County Schools
Coach: Ruth Sommers

Stallings Island Middle School, Columbia County Schools
Coach: Deborah Hundt